Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Media Watchdogs

Who will be keeping an eye on the media from the 115th Congress? Tom Taylor's NOW newsletter has the names...

The 115th Congress begins to organize itself, and Tennessee Republican Rep. Marsha Blackburn rises to chair the House Telecom Subcommittee. She’s from the Nashville area and has shown interest in issues important to the music community. Blackburn succeeds former Oregon radio station owner Greg Walden as chair of a subcommittee where she’s shown herself to be a sharp questioner of witnesses. New Jersey Republican Rep. Leonard Lance is the new Vice Chair. Greg Walden now has the seniority to chair the full Energy & Commerce Committee, succeeding Michigan’s Fred Upton. Broadcasting & Cable’s John Eggerton has the rest of the Telecom Subcommittee, chosen by Walden – John Shimkus (from Illinois), Steve Scalise (Louisiana), Bob Latta (Ohio), Brett Guthrie (Kentucky), Pete Olson (Texas), Adam Kinzinger (Illinois), Gus Bilirakis (Florida), Bill Johnson (Ohio), Billy Long (Missouri), Bill Flores (Texas), Susan Brooks (Indiana), Chris Collins (NY), Kevin Cramer (ND), Mimi Walters (California) and Ryan Costello of Pennsylvania. Reps. Walters, Costello, Brooks and Flores are new to the subcommittee.